Skip to Content

4 Prestigious Awards For Amusement Parks and How They’re Judged

May 9, 2018 • admin

Amusement parks are known around the world for their fun rides, great food and entertaining games. But most people don’t know there’s an entire professional association that awards the top parks with international recognition. The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) gives out a number of awards each year, including the Souvenir Awards, Must-See Waterparks, arung jeram dufan the Spirit of Excellence Awards and the Service Awards.

This year, the IAAPA awards will be handed out at the IAAPA Attractions Expo in Las Vegas, NV. The Expo takes place in a different location each year and employees work tirelessly to judge amusement parks, waterparks and other attractions in the each of the award categories.

The Souvenir Awards

The Souvenir Awards are given to recognize parks in both merchandise and visual store displays. Awards are given in the following categories: Best Hat, Best Keychain, Best T-shirt, Best Drinkware, Best Gift, Best Visual (overall store design) and Best Visual (window, feature or focal). Souvenirs from amusement parks are judged based on their innovation, visual appeal, quality, branding and the uniqueness to each of the entering parks.

Parks can enter the contests each September by sending a photo of a merchandising display or a sample of the merchandise. The awards are announced each November at the IAAPA Attractions Expo.

Must-See Waterparks

The Must-See Waterparks Award recognizes the top two or three waterparks each November. The winning waterparks are the ones that consistently provide park visitors with an unforgettable visit. The waterparks are scored on guest service, operations or safety.

Some of the past winners have been from Wildwood, New Jersey, South Korea, China and Dubai, UAE. In the past, winning waterparks have included features like dedicated children’s play areas, private cabanas, water slides for everyone and even relaxation services like massages and other spa services. This year’s winners will be announced at the IAAPA Attractions Expo in Las Vegas, NV.

Spirit of Excellence Awards

The Spirit of Excellence Awards recognize parks around the world for behind the scenes work, mainly Employee Recruitment and Recognition, Safety Awareness, Employee Orientation, Guest Services Training and Supervisor Training programs. Each of the different categories reward amusement parks that are committed to training and professional development.

Past winners include amusement parks from Wildwood, New Jersey, Australia, Singapore and Canada.

Service Awards

There are three separate service awards for IAAPA members. The Lifetime Service Award, the Outstanding Service Award and the Meritorious Service Award are all given to IAAPA members who benefit the amusement parks industry, whether regionally, nationally or internationally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.